Across the globe, millions of children fall onto the Autism spectrum. The reason it is referred to as a spectrum is that the condition affects them in a variety of different ways. To better diagnose and help these children, the spectrum has been broken down into five distinct sections.

What are the 5 different types of Autism? How do I know if my child falls into one? What are my next steps? BM Behavioral Center is here to answer all of your questions.

Table of Contents

  • What Are the 5 Different Types of Autism?
  • Asperger’s Syndrome
  • Rett Syndrome
  • Childhood Disintegrative Disorder (CDD)
  • Kanner’s Syndrome
  • Pervasive Developmental Disorder – Not Otherwise Specified (PDD-NOS)
  • Contact BM Behavioral Center to Learn More

What Are the 5 Different Types of Autism?

Autism Spectrum Disorder is a broad category with different levels to specify the degree of support an autistic person needs to thrive. If your child is living with Autism, you need to understand the unique forms of Autism and the symptoms presented by each. They are:

Asperger’s Syndrome

The term Asperger’s Syndrome was used before 2013. It has since been reclassified as Level 1 Autism Spectrum Disorder by the DSM-5 diagnostic manual. Level 1 Spectrum Disorder is characterized by a child having above-average intelligence and strong verbal skills, coupled with challenges with social communication. A child will display the following symptoms:

  • Inflexibility in thought and behavior
  • Challenges in switching between activities
  • Executive functioning problems
  • Flat monotone speech
  • The inability to express feelings in their speech
  • Challenges in changing their pitch to fit their immediate environment
  • Difficulty interacting with peers at school or home

Rett Syndrome

Rett Syndrome affects almost every aspect of a child’s life. This is a rare neurodevelopmental disorder found most often in girls, although it can still be diagnosed in boys. The most common symptoms of Rett Syndrome are:

  • Loss of standard movement and coordination
  • Challenges with communication and speech
  • Breathing difficulties in some cases

Childhood Disintegrative Disorder (CDD)

Childhood Disintegrative Disorder (CDD)This is a neurodevelopmental disorder defined by the delayed onset of developmental problems in language, motor skills, or social function. With CDD, a child can develop normally, only to hit an impasse after age three and up to the age 10.

Kanner’s Syndrome

This is “classic Autism.” Children with Kanner’s Syndrome are alert and intelligent, with underlying characteristics of the disorder such as:

  • Uncontrolled speech
  • Obsession with handling objects
  • Lack of emotional attachment with other
  • Communication and social challenges
  • A high degree of rote memory and visuospatial skills 
  • Major difficulties learning in other areas

Pervasive Developmental Disorder – Not Otherwise Specified (PDD-NOS)

This is a mild type of Autism that presents a range of symptoms, the most common of which are challenges in social and language development. It is often used to describe a child with some but not all symptoms of Autism.

Contact BM Behavioral Center to Learn More

What are the 5 different types of Autism? As you can see, Autism refers to a wide range of neurodevelopmental disorders. The proper management of Autism depends on the type of Autism and the severity of the child’s symptoms. 

That is what we are here for! Understanding the unique challenges of each type of Autism will guide you in helping your child cope with the disorder. We want you to know that your child can still enjoy a fulfilling life with the proper education, guidance, and care. That is our goal here at BM Behavioral Center.